A Teenage Examination of Conscience

Jesus said, “You shall love the Lord, your God, with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind. This is the greatest and the first commandment.”

Since my last confession…

  • Have I neglected daily prayer?
  • Have I stubbornly doubted God’s existence, goodness, or love?
  • Have I denied Jesus Christ or my Catholic Faith?
  • Have I dabbled in occult things, like spiritualism or magic?
  • Have I frivolously said, “I swear to God”?
  • Have I used holy names as if they were profanities?
  • Have I failed to keep Fridays as a day of penance?
  • Have I failed to keep Sundays as a day of rest?
  • Have I skipped Sunday Mass?
  • Have I been irreverent or inattentive at church or towards Jesus in the Eucharist?
  • Have I neglected to confess serious sins?
  • Have I favored my own comfort and entertainments over God’s will?
  • Have I refused to trust that God will take care of me?

God said, “Honor your father and mother that it may go well with you and that you may have a long life on earth.”

  • Have I disobeyed my parents?
  • Have I disrespected them to their faces or behind their backs?
  • Have I lied to them?
  • Have I manipulated them to get what I want?
  • Have I seldom shown them love or gratitude?
  • Have I neglected my duties at home?
  • Have I failed to put forth my best effort at school?
  • Have I lied to, disobeyed, or disrespected a teacher?
  • Have I cheated on tests, plagiarized papers, or copied answers?

Jesus said, “You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

  • Have I quarreled with anyone?
  • Have I bullied, insulted, or mocked anyone?
  • Have I intentionally harmed anyone?
  • Have I wished for bad things to happen to anyone?
  • Have I embraced hated for anyone?
  • Have I had an abortion or encouraged anyone to get one?
  • Have I told gossip or unflattering stories about anyone?
  • Have I told any lies?
  • Have I betrayed any friends?
  • Have I broken any promises?
  • Have I wrongly revealed any secrets?
  • Have I been a poor friend?
  • Have I coveted, been envious or greedy of anyone’s possessions?
  • Have I stolen or vandalized what belongs to another?
  • Have I simply stood by while another did wrong?
  • Have I dressed, spoken, or behaved immodestly?
  • Have I been unchaste with anyone?
  • Have I been selfish or insincere in a relationship with anyone?
  • Have I manipulated anyone to get something I wanted?
  • Have I been impatient, jealous, unkind, or unmerciful toward anyone?

St. Paul wrote, “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit… and that you are not your own?  For you have been purchased at a price. Therefore, glorify God in your body.”

  • Have I gotten intoxicated using alcohol or other drugs?
  • Have I used illegal-performance enhancing drugs?
  • Have I malnourished myself or ‘binged and purged’?
  • Have I intentionally harmed my own body?
  • Have I plotted or attempted suicide?
  • Have I lusted using movies, TV, the internet, romance novels, magazines, or music?
  • Have I engaged in unchaste acts of imagination or with myself?
  • Have I used media or entertainments in obsessive, self-isolating ways?

An Act of Contrition

Oh My God, I am sorry for my sins. In choosing to sin and failing to do good, I have sinned against you and your church. I firmly intend, with the help of your grace, to sin no more and to love as I ought.  Amen.

One Response to “A Teenage Examination of Conscience”

  1. Katie Reigel Says:

    I really like this Examination of Conscience because it relates well to my age group!!! Sometimes I read other Examination of Consciences and they don’t really relate to what I go through sometimes!!!

    Thanks for sharing this and well done!!!!!

Leave a Reply

